David Sanford

For a list of David’s music, click here or choose his name from the categories at right.

Photo by Jazmin Fillion

Pittsburgh-born composer David Sanford’s works have been performed by the Berkeley Symphony Orchestra under Kent Nagano, the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra led by Marin Alsop, the Chicago Symphony Chamber Players, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, the Chamber Society of Lincoln Center and jazz musicians such as Bob Mintzer, George Garzone, Pheeroan Ak-Laff, and the Corvini/Iodice Roma Jazz Ensemble, among numerous others. Honors include awards and fellowships from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Guggenheim Foundation, BMI, ASCAP, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, and the Rome Prize. He received a Ph.D. from Princeton University. He is the leader and founder of the Pittsburgh Collective and Associate Professor
of Music at Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, MA.

4 Responses to David Sanford

  1. Pingback: Te Deum | Oxingale Music

  2. Pingback: Seven Kings | Oxingale Music

  3. Pingback: Congratulations to composer David Sanford: Winner of a 2015 Goddard Lieberson Fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters | Oxingale Music

  4. Pingback: Hear 6 New Works Inspired by Bach’s 6 Cello Suites | 98.7WFMT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s