Piano Trio No. 1

By Lewis Spratlan | For For Violin, Cello, and Piano | 19′

Title: Piano Trio No. 1
Composer: Lewis Spratlan
Year Composed: 2020
Instrumentation: For Violin, Cello and Piano
Duration: 19′

Format: Performance Set: Full Score + 2 Parts
Page Size: Letter
Catalog Number: OM0447

For more information about perusal scores, rentals, or wholesale/bulk discounts, please contact us.

For more information about our order process for print and PDF purchases, check out our FAQ page.

From the composer:

Piano Trio No. 1 was composed in 2020, during the first great surge of COVID-19 deaths in
America. Of the three movements, the third is the most closely connected to this tragedy,
displaying the struggles and pains of the illness, a twice-stated chorale surrounding a further
struggle, and finally a glimpse of departed souls rising. The first movement is about a single
sonority that begins the piece with various unfoldings of this material. The second movement
is actually two movements in one: a violin/cello duet in two sections followed by a scherzo
where the piano takes the lead.

Premiere: First performed January 8, 2023 in Brooklyn, NY at Concerts on the Slope by Kae Nakano, violin; Benjamin Larsen, cello; and, Fifi Zhang, piano.

This entry was posted in Cello, Chamber Music, Chamber Music with Cello, Chamber Music with Piano, Chamber Music With..., Composers, Instrument, Lewis Spratlan, Piano, Piano Trio, Trio, Violin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s