Six Rags

By Lewis Spratlan | For Solo Piano| 17′

Title: Six Rags
Lewis Spratlan
Year Composed:
solo piano
: 17′
Full Score
Catalogue Number:

Printed Edition Price: $30
PDF Edition Price: $25

Six rags for solo piano, each sprung from a natural New England landmark. The first three movements come from the Mahoosuc Mountains, which range from New Hampshire to Maine and overlaps part of the Appalachian Trail. The latter three rags celebrate the geography of Western Massachusetts.

  1. Goose Eye Mountain Rag
  2. Speck Pond Rag
  3. Mahoosuc Notch Rag
  4. Mount Greylock Rag
  5. Pelham Lake Rag
  6. Chesterfield Gorge Rag

“The sense of the various locations provides the main tissue of each piece, with ragtime music woven into the fabric, sometimes generating notes used at large; sometimes self-contained. This music stands for the human beholder in nature.”

-Lewis Spratlan

This entry was posted in Chamber Music with Piano, Lewis Spratlan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s