Six Preludes

By Lewis Spratlan | For Solo Piano| ~19′

Title: Six Preludes
Lewis Spratlan
Year Composed:
solo piano
: 19′
Full Score
Catalogue Number:

Printed Edition Price: $30
PDF Edition Price: $25

The composer presents six piano preludes, dedicated to the pianist Alissa Leiser.

They are

  1. Momentum
  2. Swerving
  3. Reverie
  4. Interruption
  5. Entropy
  6. Für Alissa

Reverie is written in memoriam to Lewis Spratlan’s friend Elizabeth Hollander, who died in 2015, and contains tributes to her. Entropy winks to the well known c minor prelude of Chopin, but takes a Spratlanian turn through harmony and time. The final movement is, in Spratlan’s words, a “jab at Beethoven’s indelible contribution to young pianists… pun, alas, intended.”

This entry was posted in Chamber Music with Piano, Lewis Spratlan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s