By Lewis Spratlan | For Clarinet, Violin and Piano | 16′

Title: Trio
Lewis Spratlan
Year Composed: 2009
Clarinet, Violin and Piano
Format: Score + Parts
Catalogue Number:
Printed Edition Price: 55.00 USD
PDF Price: 40.00 USD

Listen to an excerpt of Trio:

Trio for clarinet, violin, and piano was composed for David Schneider, Elizabeth Chang, and Alissa Leiser during the period March-December 2009.  It has numerous sections, many of them interrupting previous sections.  In fact, the piece might be considered a kind of contest between interruption and continuity, entailing shifting perspectives as to which material is primary.  Each instrument at some point becomes a soloist and, over the course of time, develops its essential voice.  These individualistic qualities, however, succumb to the gravitational pull of sameness, whether the low, blurry opening bars or the unanimous and raucous clattering of the conclusion.

– Lewis Spratlan

This entry was posted in Chamber Music, Chamber Music with Piano, Lewis Spratlan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s