Sonnet 60 of William Shakespeare

By Božo Banović | For Three Female Voices and Violoncello | 7′

Title: Sonnet 60 of William Shakespeare
Božo Banović
Year Composed:
For Three Female Voices and Violoncello
Format: Score 
Catalogue Number:

Printed Edition Price:
20.00 USD
PDF Price: 15.00 USD

Winner of the 2014 Oxingale Music competition.

The composer writes,

As being a non native English speaker, I have never felt quite comfortable with the idea of setting Shakespeare’s verses to music, partly because of the fear of not reaching the contents, and partly because, most of the time, I have been reading translations. But then I realized that it had its own advantages – to read Shakespeare in translation meant to read his work in contemporary language and the meaning of the original text could not be exhausted by interpretating it in one of many possible ways – either translating it or setting it to music. Finally, my composition has emerged as a polyphonic texture moving through clearly divisible sections, like in a 16th or 17th century madrigal, because I believe that the basic laws of dramaturgy “stand to times.”

This entry was posted in Chamber Music, Chamber Music with Cello, Chamber Music with Voice, Voice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s