Ten Images

By Luna Pearl Woolf | For Clarinet and Cello | 10′

Title: Ten Images
Composer: Luna Pearl Woolf
Year Composed: 2001
Instrumentation: For Clarinet in B-Flat, and Cello
Duration: 10′

Format: 2x Full (Transposed) Score (includes both parts).
Page Size: Letter
Catalog Number: OM0109

For more information about perusal scores, rentals, or wholesale/bulk discounts, please contact us.

For more information about our order process for print and PDF purchases, check out our FAQ page.

From the composer:

Ten Images: Gifts in Miniature for Deborah Sherr

Ten Images was commissioned by Bill Feinstein as a birthday gift for cellist and educator Deborah Sherr.  At a private celebration in her honor in May 2001, Ten Images was given its first hearing by clarinetist Michael Sussman and cellist Matt Haimovitz, who later premiered the piece publicly.

Ten Images is made up of ten short pieces, ranging from 30 seconds to 2 minutes in length.  Each miniature captures a musical idea, their sequence characterized by contrast.  The clarinet and cello lend by turns support and counterpoint, blending voice or solo declamation to the musical image. The motivation for each movement is articulated with a descriptive tempo marking:

  1. Aggressive
  2. Elegant
  3. Suspended
  4. Unbalanced
  5. Agitated
  6. Mysterious
  7. Stilted
  8. Anticipating
  9. Smooth, elastic
  10. Finale, hypnotized

The work’s dedication figures in the finale to the set, in which one can hear a musically spelled setting, first stated boldly, then spun out in idiomatic motifs, of the name, Deb Sherr.

“Ten Images,” by Luna Pearl Woolf, was the evening’s outlier: the miniatures for clarinet (Eran Egozy) and cello (Bolkosky) slipped in and out of tradition, distilling common musical tropes (a curl of waltz, a gruff report of Beethovenian octaves, a cat-and-mouse motivic chase), translating them into chromatic piquancy — an inoculation, perhaps, against cliché.

– the Boston Globe

Commission/Dedication: Commissioned by Bill Feinstein.
Premiere: First performed in May 2001 in a private performance, by Michael Sussman and Matt Haimovitz.

This entry was posted in Cello, Chamber Music, Chamber Music with Cello, Chamber Music With..., Clarinet, Composers, Duo, Instrument, Luna Pearl Woolf and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s