By Luna Pearl Woolf | For Soprano, Oboe and Bassoon | 7′

Title: Reluctance
Composer: Luna Pearl Woolf
Text by: On the poem by Robert Frost.
Year Composed: 2000
Instrumentation: For Soprano, Oboe and Bassoon
Duration: 7′

Format: Performance Set: Full Score + 2 Parts
Page Size: Letter
Catalog Number: OM0108

For more information about perusal scores, rentals, or wholesale/bulk discounts, please contact us.

For more information about our order process for print and PDF purchases, check out our FAQ page.

From the composer:

Reluctance was composed in 2000, for the Syrinx ensemble, Catalina Arrubla, oboe and Camilo Rojas, bassoon.  In Robert Frost’s equivocal poem, the final couplet of each stanza brings a change, either in tone or perspective.  Likewise, the music is marked at these moments with wide motion in the vocal line, evoking in one case dismay, in another frustration, in a third a searching journey.  Interludes precede the stanzas with a suspended counterpoint in the Oboe and Bassoon.  When the voice enters it transforms the ensemble into one neither vocal nor instrumental, but evincing properties of each, before establishing a more narrative style and drawing out the poetry’s earnest contention.

Out through the fields and the woods
___And over the walls I have wended;
I have climbed the hills of view
___And looked at the world and descended;
I have come by the highway home,
___And lo it is ended.
The leaves are all dead on the ground,
___Save those that the oak is keeping
To ravel them one by one
___And let them go scraping and creeping
Out over the crusted snow,
___When others are sleeping.
And the dead leaves lie huddled and still,
___No longer blown hither and thither;
The last lone aster is gone;
___T he flowers of the witch hazel wither;
The heart is still aching to seek,
___But the feet question “Whither?”
Ah, when to the heart of man
___Was it ever less than a treason
To go with the drift of things,
___To yield with a grace to reason
And bow and accept the end
___Of a love or a season

Commission/Dedication: To the Syrinx Ensemble.
Premiere: First performed in September 2000 at Smith College, Northampton, MA by the Syrinx Ensemble.

This entry was posted in Bassoon, Chamber Music, Chamber Music with Voice, Chamber Music With..., Composers, Featured Voice, Instrument, Luna Pearl Woolf, Oboe, Soprano, Trio, Voice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s