Piano Quartet No. 2

By Lewis Spratlan | For Piano Quartet | 14′

Title: Piano Quartet No. 2
Composer: Lewis Spratlan
Year Composed: 2016
Instrumentation: For Viola, Viola, Cello, and Piano
Duration: 14′
Format: Score + 3 parts
Catalog Number: OM0439

For more information about perusal scores, rentals, or wholesale/bulk discounts, please contact us.

For more information about our order process for print and PDF purchases, check out our FAQ page.

From the composer:

Piano Quartet No. 2 follows upon Streaming: Quartet for Piano and Strings (2004) and shares with it a penchant for self-interruption, a quality that challenges continuity but that promotes a heightened awareness of the particularity of utterances and active participation in building a perceived formal structure. It is in two movements, the first largely autumnal and retrospective (at one point it paraphrases a familiar late work of Brahms), the second fleeting, mercurial, and enigmatic and suggestive of a variety of next steps not yet heard.

Commission/Dedication: Commissioned by and dedicated to Elizabeth Chang and Alissa Leiser.
Premiere: Premiered at BargeMusic, Brooklyn, NY, June 16, 2017 by Elizabeth Chang, violin; Nardo Poy, viola; Julia Lichten, cello; and, Alissa Leiser, piano.

This entry was posted in Chamber Music, Chamber Music with Cello, Chamber Music with Piano, Composers, Lewis Spratlan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s